Coffee Club: How Social are You on Social Media?

Published 05/23 2014 08:33AM

Updated 05/28 2014 02:55PM

The social network company announced Thursday it is changing the default for new users so that, going forward, the default setting is "friends only."

For instance, the first time someone posts they will see a reminder to choose an audience for that post, and if they don't make a choice it defaults to friends.

The change will have no impact on existing users.

Facebook also announced that it was giving a privacy checkup to every one of its 1.28 billion users.

The changes amount to an about face for the world's largest social network as it tries to appease worries, for both users and regulators, about privacy on the internet.

Share your comments here for a chance to be featured on Abilene Midday at 11:30!

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


.