Leadership Advisory Board of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension to Host "Meet the Candidates" in Jones County

Published 02/09 2014 04:36PM

Updated 02/09 2014 04:41PM

ANSON,TX-The Leadership Advisory Board of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Jones County will host Meet the Candidates Fundraiser/Meal and Auction on February 10th.  The event will be held at the Lawrence Hall Activity Center, 801 23rd St. in Anson.

Meet the Candidates is an annual fundraiser benefitting the Jones County 4-H program and the Extension Education Association.  Members of 4-H and EEA are asked to bring a home-made cake, pie or cookies for the live auction.  There will be a ham meal to enjoy while the auction is happening. Candidates for local and area offices are given three minutes for their political position for guests attending and answer any questions they might have.  
The meal will consist of ham, cheesy potatoes, green beans and salad.  Take out meals will be available at 5:30 p.m. and entertainment will begin at 6 p.m. Tickets will be $7 for adults and $4 for 12 and under. 

All proceeds to benefit the 4-H clubs in Jones County, Stamford, Hamlin and Anson and Compere and Sunshine Extension Education clubs Jones County.
For tickets or more information contact Debbie Hailey, CEA-FCS or Steve Estes at (325)823-2432 or email jones@ag.tamu.edu.

Educational programs of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service are open to all people without regard to race, color, sex, disability, religion, age or national origin.

Currently, here is a list of candidates confirmed to attend and speak, as well as the office sought:

(Others may be added this week)
Steve Stockman U.S. Senator
Donald May U.S. Representative District 19
Neal Marchbanks U.S. Representative District 19
Dale Henry Railroad Commissioner
Isaac Castro State Representative District 71
Susan King State Representative District 71
John Bailey Justice, 11th Court of Appeals District, Place 3
Dale Spurgin County Judge
Cary Davis County Commissioner, Precinct 2
Mike Polk County Commissioner, Precinct 2
Steve Lefevre County Commissioner, Precinct 2
Greg Pinkston County Commissioner, Precinct 4
Joe Whitehorn County Commissioner, Precinct 4
Cheryl Guernsey Justice of the Peace

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Featured Coupon