Abilene restaurants, bars can now apply for alcohol sales until 2AM

ABILENE, Texas (KTAB/KRBC) - Restaurants and bars in Abilene can now apply for permits that will allow them to sell alcohol until 2:00 a.m. 

"Make Abilene Late", a campaign city council members decided to vote into law in May, took effect Sunday, October 1, 2017, however, the late sales can't begin just yet. 

The Texas Alcohol and Beverage Commission says local businesses wishing to take part in "Make Abilene Late" must first apply for a permit, which range in price from $627 to $1,850 depending on the establishment and type of permit sought. 

Any businesses interested in applying need to contact Abilene TABC licensing office located at 500 Chestnut Street, Suite 1573. They can be reached by phone at (325)672-8111.

Once the application gets past the City office, it will be sent to the TABC's state office to be processed, which the TABC says will take 39 days on average. 

The Abilene Police Department does plan to increase patrol around 2:00 a.m. once businesses start to receive approval for late hours alcohol sales. 

BigCountryHomepage will continue to provide updates on "Make Abilene Late". Check back for any updates. 

 


More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News