Sweetwater Police Department becomes 139th agency in Texas to receive accreditation

SWEETWATER, Texas (KTAB/KRBC) - The Sweetwater Police Department was recognized as the 139th law enforcement agency to receive the Texas Law Enforcement's Best Business Practices accreditation.

Abilene Police Chief Stan Standridge serves as a representative of the Best Practices Recognition Committee for the Texas Police Chiefs Association. Sweetwater Police Chief Brian Frieda is the current TPCA president.

TPCA is made up of over 1,100 law enforcement executives from across the state. Chief Standridge says they are dedicated to one thing, and that's to "improve the delivery of police services to our citizens."

At Tuesday's city council meeting in Sweetwater, Chief Standridge presented Chief Frieda and the Sweetwater Police Department a certificate of recognition and accreditation for achieving compliance with Texas Law Enforcement's Best Business Practices.

The accreditation is based on meeting 168 standards, which include: Use of force, protection of citizen rights, vehicle pursuits, officer training, arrest, search and seizure, and property and evidence management.

According to a press release from Chief Frieda, "this voluntary process required the Sweetwater Police Department to conduct a critical self-review of the agency's policies, procedures, facilities and operations."

SPD began the process in 2014. The final review took place March 7-9, 2017.

"The on-site review is conducted by trained Police Chiefs from other areas of our state," according to the press release. "The result of this review was then sent to the Texas Police Chiefs Associations' Recognition Committee for final analysis."

According to Cheif Standridge, the vote was unanimous for SPD to receive the accreditation.

There are approximately 2,400 law enforcement agencies in Texas. Only 139 have achieved this status, SPD being the 139th recognized agency in the state of Texas.

The accreditation is valid for 4 years.

Chief Brian Frieda was joined by Sgt. Armando Renteria, Officer Austin Carrasco, and Officer Cory Stroman to accept the award.


More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News