Bracket Set For ASC Volleyball Championship

Published 10/28 2013 12:13AM

Updated 10/28 2013 12:15AM

Reported by: Chad Grubbs, HSU Director of Athletic Communications

RICHARDSON, Texas — With American Southwest Conference volleyball play completed, the ASC has announced the bracket for the ASC Championship that will be hosted by the University of Texas at Dallas in Richardson Nov. 7-9 at the UTD Activity Center.

Teams still have a week left in the regular season, but ASC play was completed over the weekend. UTD earned the right to host the double-elimination tournament with a 17-1 league mark.

HSU will be looking for its fifth ASC title and fourth straight. HSU is the No. 4 seed and will play Texas-Tyler on Thursday at 2:30. The winner will take on UTD at 7:30.

The other side of the bracket has No. 2 seed Mary Hardin-Baylor with the bye and No. 3 seed East Texas Baptist and No. 6 seed Concordia. UMHB will play the winner of the noon ETBU-Concordia game.

The 2013 ASC Volleyball Championship Tournament is the 16th postseason event dating back to 1998. The ASC tournament winner earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship.

This marks the Cowgirls ninth straight ASC Championship appearance. HSU has played in the ASC final in seven of the previous eight appearances.

Richardson, Texas / UTD Activity Center / Hosted by: The University of Texas at Dallas

Day One: Thursday, November 7
Game 1 –– #3 East Texas Baptist vs. #6 Concordia Texas, 12:00 p.m.
Game 2 –– #4 Hardin-Simmons vs. #5 Texas-Tyler, 2:30 p.m.
Game 3 –– #2 Mary Hardin-Baylor vs. Winner Game 1 (3/6), 5:00 p.m.
Game 4 –– #1 Texas-Dallas vs. Winner Game 2 (4/5), 7:30 p.m.

Day Two: Friday, November 8
Game 5 –– Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 4, 12:00 p.m.
Game 6 –– Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 3, 2:30 p.m.
Game 7 –– Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 5:00 p.m.
Game 8 –– Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6, 7:30 p.m.

Day Three: Saturday, November 9
Game 9 –– Loser Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8, 12:00 p.m.
Game 10 –– Championship / Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 9, 3:00 p.m.
Game 11 (if needed) –– Game 10 Teams, 5:30 p.m.

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Featured Coupon


Featured Business