Four Cowboys Honored By American Southwest Conference

Published 03/04 2014 01:53PM

Updated 03/04 2014 02:01PM

Reported by: Chad Grubbs, HSU Director of Athletic Communications

RICHARDSON, Texas — Four Hardin-Simmons men’s basketball players were honored by the 12 head coaches in the American Southwest Conference as the league announced its yearly awards on Tuesday.

Junior forward Derrick Jefferson was named first-team all-conference and was also selected to the all-defensive team. He received the second-most votes in the league. He averaged 18.1 points and 7.8 rebounds, had 95 assists and 62 steals on the year. All four totals were in the top 10 in the league. He also became the first player in league history to be named to three ASC all-tournament teams.

Senior forward Titus Mims was named second-team all-ASC after averaging 14.2 points and 6.2 rebounds per game in 22 games. He shot 47.3 percent from the field and 38 percent from 3-point range. He also had 32 blocked shots.

Junior center Mawen Maywin was named the American Southwest Conference Defensive player of the year and was named to the all-defensive team. He blocked a league-best 76 shots on the season and averaged 5.3 rebounds per contest.

Freshman Justin Jones was named to the all-freshmen team. He came on strong in the second half of the year and averaged 4.7 points and 3.8 rebounds per game in the second semester in 13 minutes per game. He shot 49.4 percent from the field and 45.5 percent from 3-point range. He ranked sixth in the conference in blocked shots on the season.

Kyle Schleigh of Texas-Dallas was named the player of the year in the conference, Josh Ferrell of Ozarks was the freshman of the year, Bryce Kemp of Texas-Tyler was the newcomer of the year, Zakk Revelle of Sul Ross State was the sportsmanship athlete of the year and Terry Butterfield of Texas-Dallas was named coach of the year.

HSU finished the year with a 19-9 record, after a 1-6 start to the season. They advanced to the ASC Championship game and finished second in the ASC standings for the regular season.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Featured Coupon