War Hawk Swimmers Splash Austin College

Published 02/01 2014 09:20PM

Updated 02/01 2014 09:24PM

Reported by: Dave Beyer, McMurry Sports Information Director

ABILENE, Texas – McMurry’s swimming team made the most of its final home meet of the 2014 season, sweeping Austin College at the Phillips Family Center. The War Hawks women won a decisive decision, 143-44, while the men took a 134-107 win.

On the women’s side, McM won first place honors in 12 of the 14 contested events. The men won six events and showed their depth in gaining the victory, after tying the Kangaroos a little over two weeks ago.

Leading the way for McMurry’s women was freshman Kelly McNamee, who took top honors in three individual races. McNamee won both the 100 backstroke (1:02.89) and 200 backstroke (2:24.23), as well as taking the 500 freestyle (6:03.33).

Fellow frosh Kelsey Frazier also won two events, as did sophomore Emma Donaldson. Frazier won the 100 and 200 butterfly races in times of 1:06.88 and 2:32.34, respectively. Donaldson topped the field in the 100 breaststroke (1:16.22) and 200 breaststroke (2:43.73) races.

Other individual winners for McM included Shannon Samples in the grueling 1000 freestyle in a clocking of 13:15.73. Samples was also second to McNamee in the 500 freestyle (6:27.62).

Samantha Spain was first in the 200 free (2:12.01) and also the runner-up in the 100 breaststroke (1:19.16). Sarah Hernandez won the 100 freestyle race (58.73) and was second in the 200 free (2:15.19).

The War Hawks won both the 200 medley and 200 freestyle relays, as well.

On the men’s side, freshman Justin Aravanage picked up wins in the 100 breaststroke (1:04.09) and 200 breaststroke (2:23.65), as well as swimming the second leg on the winning 200 medley relay.

The War Hawks won the 1000 freestyle in a “nick” of time…literally. The tandem of Nick Gochenour and Nick Helgerson went 1-2 in the race, sporting times of 11:28.05 and 12:04.30, respectively.

McMurry’s other men’s winning entrant was in the 100 freestyle, where sophomore Kent Grimes swam a time of 51.55 seconds.

Like their female counterparts, the McM men also won both the 200 medley and 200 freestyle relay races.

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Featured Coupon