Eight Big Country Players Named to THSBCA All-State Teams

Published 06/18 2014 11:09AM

Updated 06/18 2014 08:07PM

With the high school season officially in the books, the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association has released their all-state teams for the 2014 season. Once again this year the Big Country is well represented among the state's best.

Abilene High's Derek Scott was named to the Class 5A second team as a first baseman. As a junior, Scott helped lead the Eagles to the playoffs both at first base and on the mound as a pitcher.

Skillett Rinehart of Snyder is the lone Big Country player named to an all-state team in Class 3A. The senior third baseman was named to the second team this year.

A total of four players from Class 2A received the honor from the THSBCA this year. Eastland pitcher Chris Howard and short stop JD Coffee were named to the Class 2A first team. Jim Ned second baseman Cade Johnson was also named to the first team. His teammate, outfielder Tanner Milam, received second team honors.

Anson reached the stat tournament in Round Rock for the first time in 2014, and two Tigers were honored by the THSBCA with all-state selections. Pitcher Matt Villanueva was named to the first team after posting a 13-1 record this past season. His battery-mate, Stetson Meek, was named to the third team.

Here's a complete list of all the Big Country players that were named to THSBCA All-State Teams this year:

Class 5A
Derek Scott - Abilene High - First Base - 3rd Team

Class 3A
Skillett Rinehart - Snyder - Third Base - 2nd Team

Class 2A
Chris Howard - Eastland - Pitcher - 1st Team
JD Coffee - Eastland - Shortstop - 1st Team
Cade Johnson - Jim Ned - Second Base - 1st Team
Tanner Milam - Jim Ned - Outfielder - 2nd Team

Class 1A
Matt Villanueva - Anson - Pitcher - 1st Team
Stetson Meek - Anson - Catcher - 3rd Team

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.