Cisco And Eastland Picked To Win District Titles

The Cisco Loboes lost 16 letterman from last season, but what is left is plenty good. Head coach Brent West's team is picked to win the District 4-2A Division 2 championship this year. Colton Gayle is back to play quarterback for the Lobos. Gayle gained over 23-hundred total yards last year. Running back/linebacker Mason Reed is back after rushing for 15-hundred yards and making 128 tackles on defense.

Colorado City is expected to finish right behind Cisco in this top heavy district. The Wolves make the long trip to the east to join the district. They are looking for 10 new starters but the foundation is set with long-time head coach Frank Johnson leading the way. Alex Henderson is the leading returner on an experienced defense, and sophomore Dillian Gainey takes over at quarterback.

Hamilton is the other playoff pick by Texas Football magazine. Coleman and Hawley are 2 of the districts 5 teams that had winning records or went to the playoffs. Ballinger is picked 6th.

The Eastland Mavericks are the pick to  win the District 4-2A Div. I championship. The Mavericks are looking to Josh Moylan to take over at quarterback for Trent Brittain. Moylan saw some action as a freshman 2 years ago.

Breckenridge and head coach Steve Freeman are next in the district in 2nd place.12 starters are back for the Buckaroos' area finalist team from 2011. Pedro Ramirez returns at quarterback, and he is the preseason offensive MVP in the district according to Texas Football. Freeman says his team has the essentials in place to have a breakout season.

Merkel is the final playoff team from District 4-2A. They are looking for Frankie Harris' replacement, but confidence is high. Baylor Mullins is back to lead the Badgers. In 2011, He rushed for 333 yards, threw for 992 yards, had 77 tackles, and he is preseason all-state as the kicker in Class 2A. Mullin averaged over 43 yards a punt last year.

Comanche and new head coach Stephen Hermesmeyer is 4th. New head coach Rocky Smart's Clyde team is picked 5th. Jim Ned is 5th and Dublin is 6th.

The Bangs Dragons are expected to go back to the playoffs again this year. J.T. Newton returns after throwing 20 touchdown passes last year for the Dragons. Newton's return along with 6 other offensive starters give Bangs a shot to claim the district crown.

The Dragons are picked behind the Wall Hawks, who are supposed to be even better this year that last year's regional semifinalist team. Comfort is picked 3rd. They are followed by Brady, Early, Ingram, and Grape Creek.

Don't Miss

Latest News