Merkel And Colorado City Picked To Win District Championships

The Colorado City Wolves are picked to claim the crown in the district for the 2nd year in a row. Head coach Frank Johnson's team is back with 11 starters from a team in 2010 that rolled to a 6 and oh record in district play. Derek Gainey is the key returner for the Wolves this year. Gainey is entering his 3rd year as the starting quarterback, and he threw for over 2-thousand yards last year with 20 touchdown passes.

The Wall Hawks will push Colorado City, and they are picked 2nd in the district. Crane is picked to be the other playoff team from District 2.

District 3 in Division 1 could be the tightest race in 2011. Merkel is the favorite to win the crown. The Badgers return running back Frankie Harris. Harris rushed for almost 21-hundred yards and scored 18 times. Sophomore Bailey Mullins takes over at quarterback.

Bangs will push the Badgers for the top spot. J.T. Newton is back to take the snaps, but the key for the Dragons will be the defense. The heart of that defense is back with the returns of Taylor Roberts and Braden Williams.

The Ballinger Bearcats are the final playoff team according to Texas Football Magazine. The Clyde Bulldogs return 14 starters and will battle the top 4 for a spot in the playoffs. Brady is 5th followed by Early and the Jim Ned Indians.

Now to District 4 where the Breckenridge Buckaroos are primed to make a move. 2010 was a turn around season for head coach Steve Freeman and his team. The Bucks dropped to Class 2A and rolled to the 2nd round of the playoffs with a 9 and 3 record. This year, the Bucks have 22 letterman returning led by Scotty Roberson and Ryan Stoker.

Breckenridge is picked 2nd in the district behind defending champion Godley. Eastland is picked to take the final playoff berth in 2011.

The Mavericks have Trent Brittain back at quarterback. Britain was all-district at quarterback last year even though he missed 4 games. The Mavs signal caller hrew for 18-hundred yards and 21 touchdowns and rushed for another 300 yards in just 7 games.

Here's the rest of the district. Comanche is 4th. Clifton, Whitney, and Dublin are 5th, 6th, and 7th.

Now to Division 2, defending state champion Idalou is picked to win District 2. Texas Football says Coahoma and Stanton will claim the other playoff berths. Anson and Hawley are picked 6th and 7th.

On to District 4, the Cisco Lobos were a surprising no show in the playoffs in 2010. Head coach Brent West's team won just 3 district games. They are picked to return to the post season this year. The Lobos will be led at quarterback by Junior Colten Gayle who had over 15-hundred total yards and 16 touchdowns.

Defending district champ Crawford is picked to win the district with Hamilton in 2nd place. Hico will challenge the Loboes for 3rd, and Tolar, Millsap, and Rio Vista finish off the district.

Don't Miss

Latest News