Nine Big Country Baseball Players Named to All-State Teams

Published 06/18 2013 04:17PM

Updated 06/18 2013 05:42PM

A total of nine big country baseball players were selected for the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association All-State Teams this year.

The player from the largest school in the big country is Snyder's Brandon Davis. He was selected to the Class 3A first team as an outfielder.

Four players that call the big country home were selected in Class 2A. Eastland's J.D. Coffey was selected to the third team as a short stop, and Ballinger's Ely Self was selected to the second team as a short stop.

Two players from the Bangs Dragons squad that reached the state tournament in class 2A were selected this year. Senior Aaron Keller was selected to the third team as a first baseman. At the same time junior J.T. Newton was selected to the second team as a catcher.

A total of four players also made the Class 1A All-State teams. Three of them came from the Stamford Bulldogs, who made their fourth straight appearance in the state tournament in Round Rock this year.

Pitcher Kyle Barnett and third baseman Hagen Hutchinson were selected to the first team. Meanwhile, senior second baseman Dalton Mathis was selected to the third team.

One Anson Tiger was also selected for the All-State team this year. Matt Villaneuva was picked for the first team at first base.

The All-State Teams are selected by members of the media. To see all of this year's All-State Teams check out the THSBCA's website.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.