Pair of Wildcats earn preseason honors

October 10, 2017 - ABILENE – ACU junior guard Jaylen Franklin and sophomore center Jalone Friday are each on the Pre-Season All-Southland Conference Men’s Basketball team the league announced Tuesday.

Both Franklin and Friday are on the second team, giving ACU two players in the league’s top 10, the only school in the 13-team league with multiple players on the pre-season squad. With nine of the spots on the two five-man squads determined by returning all-conference players, Franklin was the only player in the league voted onto the 2017-18 pre-season squad.

The first team consists of Central Arkansas senior guard Jordan Howard, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi senior guard Ehab Amin, Incarnate Word senior guard Jalin Hart, Lamar senior forward Colton Weisbrod, and Stephen F. Austin junior guard T.J. Holyfield.

Franklin and Friday – the last two winners of the league’s Freshman of the Year award – lead the second team and are joined on that squad by Houston Baptist senior center Josh Ibarra, Southeastern Louisiana junior guard Marlain Veal, and Sam Houston State junior guard John Dewey III.

Friday, a 6-9 center from Oklahoma City, led the Wildcats in scoring (13.7 points per game) and blocks (34). Franklin was named to the team following a 2016-17 season that ranked him first in conference play for assists to turnover ratio (2:1), second in assists (5.1) and second in the league in minutes played (34.4 per game).

ACU gets its season started in one month (Friday, Nov. 10) when it hosts Randall University at 7:30 p.m. in Moody Coliseum.


More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News