5 Teams Earn BCH Sports Team Of The Year Award

5 Teams Earn BCH Sports Team Of The Year Award

Cisco, Stamford, and Munday claim BCH Sports Team of the Year award in 11-man football. Throckmorton and Abilene Christian High School earn 6-man honor.
Most people thought 2012 was going to the year for Cisco. The year came a year early. Head coach Brent West led the Loboes back to the state championship game for the 4th time in the last 9 years. The offense featured 3 1,000 yard rushers. Quarterback Colton Gayle and running backs Hayden Lewis and Mason Reed led the charge for Cisco. Lewis and Reed both averaged over 9 yards every time they touched the ball. The defense gave up just 13 points a game.

The Stamford Bulldogs share the Team of the Year award. The Bulldogs and Wayne Hutchinson advanced to the Class A Div. I state championship game and finished the year with a 13-3 record. Their appearance in the title game was the school's 1st since 1959. Quarterback Hagen Hutchinson was the catalyst for the 2011 Bulldogs. Hutch threw for over 3,200 yards and 37 touchdowns, and he was the leading rusher for Stamford with almost 11-hundred yards and 21 more touchdowns. He's just a junior.

The Munday Moguls are our final Team of the Year for the 2011 season. The Moguls rushing attack was dominant for most of the year. Dee Paul was the man who made it go. He carried the ball for 2031 yards and he found the end zone 35 times. The season featured a 7-game winning streak and a 6-game winning streak. Head coach Patrick Corcoran's team advanced to the championship game for the 2 time in 4 years. The Moguls finished the year, 13 and 3.

Now to 6-man football... Throckmorton and ACHS won state championships and they are our teams of the year.

The Throckmorton Greyhounds rolled to the 6-man Division 1 state championship this year. Mike Reed's boys scored a high of 104 points this year and scored 60 points or more in every game but 3. The Greyhounds finished the championship season by beating Borden County 48 to 36.

The Abilene Christian High School Panthers are the TAPPS 6-man state champions for 2011. The Panthers won all but 3 of their games by the 45-point mercy rule and they scored 106 points in their district opener. ACHS won the state championship in Moody by beating Dallas Covenant, 66-44.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus