ABILENE, Texas (KTAB/KRBC) – The City of Abilene has announced a ‘Limited’ Shelter in Place Order due to the growing number of positive COVID-19 cases.
During a special-called city council meeting Monday morning, Mayor Anthony Williams detailed the order, which will be in place through April 14.
Residents must remain in their homes throughout that time period, unless they are performing an essential activity, including:
- Attending work or providing financial support for families
- Getting supplies necessary for food, shelter, medical care, and clothing
- Anything necessary for mental and spiritual health, such as going outside or going on a walk. Parks will remain open, but playground equipment and basketball courts will close.
Gatherings will still be restricted to 10 people maximum, indoors and outside.
Carry out and drive-through dining at restaurants will still be allowed, but any indoor eating options must be shut down. Food truck gatherings are prohibited if more than one truck is present.
All businesses, with the following exceptions, can remain open for business at this time:
- Hair salons, hair stylists, barber shops
- Nail salons
- Tattoo parlor, piercing
- Game rooms
- Bowling alleys, movie theaters, mini golf courses, other entertainment venues
- Gyms, fitness centers
- Sexually oriented businesses
- Smoking rooms inside tobacco stores (retail allowed to remain open)
All those ordered to close must do-so by noon on March 31.
Other businesses must limit customers and retail establishments must cut their maximum capacity by at least 50%.
In addition to the business closures, the Limited Shelter in Place Order demands the following people self-quarantine:
- Persons who are sick with fever, cough, shortness of breath
- All persons in household of positive covid-19 cases
- All at-risk individuals
These self-quarantined individuals may seek medical care, but they are advised to call their doctor ahead of time before going in.
Anyone in self-quarantine must remain in isolation until they’ve been fever-free for at least 72 hours without medication and all symptoms of COVID-19 must be gone for 14 days.
If any person with COVID-19 or anyone in their household refuses to self-quarantine, no matter how mild the symptoms, they will be fined $1,000 per day per occurrence and could have additional action taken, such as police surveillance or ankle monitoring.
As of Monday morning, there have been 11 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Abilene, most of which are connected to residents and healthcare professionals at Disability Resources, Inc.
BigCountryHomepage will update this article when additional information is released.
- ‘I’ll walk if you walk’: Story behind Prince Philip walking with Harry, William at Princess Diana’s funeral
- Black-owned California beachfront seized 100 years ago could be returned to owners’ descendants
- Multiple dog tags among odd items found in 445-pound gator’s stomach
- New charges added for suspect in Bryan cabinet store shooting
- Off-duty Pentagon officer charged with second-degree murder after 2 killed in Takoma Park shooting