13 Big Country driver license offices among 87 in Texas proposed to close

Local News

AUSTIN, Texas (KTAB/KRBC)  – Thirteen Big Country driver license offices are among eighty-seven across the State that could close following a recommendation from the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission.

The following offices will close if the proposal created around the recommendation passes: 

  • Anson/Roby
  • Baird
  • Ballinger
  • Breckenridge
  • Coleman
  • Colorado City
  • Comanche
  • Eastland
  • Haskell
  • Munday/Seymore
  • Snyder
  • Sweetwater
  • Goldthwaite

If these offices were to close, the following counties would no longer have any driver license offices:

  • Jones
  • Callahan
  • Runnels
  • Stephens
  • Coleman
  • Mitchell
  • Comanche
  • Eastland
  • Haskell
  • Fisher
  • Scurry
  • Nolan
  • Mills

Jones County Judge Dale Spurgeon told KRBC that if his county were to keep an office open, they would have to pay for it out of their own budget – a move he says would cause an increase to property taxes.

The Texas Association of Counties sent out an alert asking that those with concerns about the proposal contact their state legislators and the Sunset Commission. Anyone who wishes to leave comment can do so here (just select Department of Public Safety from the drop-down menu). 

The Department of Public Safety is among the agencies under review by the Sunset Commission and one of the recommendations has been to require DPS to ” develop and implement a plan to close inefficient driver license offices.”

That charge led to the study of the traffic in the various offices, and those with lower traffic were included on the list to close.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.