13 Big Country driver license offices to remain open, proposal to close 87 in Texas rejected

Local News

AUSTIN, Texas (KTAB/KRBC)  – Thirteen Big Country driver license offices are no longer in danger of closing after a proposal to shutdown eighty-seven across the State was rejected by the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission.

Texas Senator Dawn Buckingham confirmed the rejection, saying  “I strongly opposed this proposal and worked for the past several months to ensure it would not move forward.”

If the proposal had passed, the following offices would have closed:

  • Anson/Roby
  • Baird
  • Ballinger
  • Breckenridge
  • Coleman
  • Colorado City
  • Comanche
  • Eastland
  • Haskell
  • Munday/Seymore
  • Snyder
  • Sweetwater
  • Goldthwaite

Jones County Judge Dale Spurgin told KRBC that if his county was stuck funding their own office, they would have to pay for it out of their own budget – a move he says would have caused an increase to property taxes.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.