ACU nabs three spots on Southland preseason All-Conference first team


FRISCO, Texas – The Southland Conference announced the 2018 Soccer Preseason All-Conference Teams on Wednesday. Abilene Christian, Houston Baptist and Lamar University lead the way with four total selections each.
ACU and Lamar each earned three spots on the first team. The Wildcats have two automatic first team selections in returning all-conference players Dylan Owens, a senior forward, and sophomore midfielder Christina Arteaga. Junior midfielder Shay Johnson was voted to her first team spot. The Cardinals earned three automatic first team selections in senior defender Amelia Fullmer, senior forward Kelso Peskin and sophomore forward Lucy Ashworth.
McNeese earned two automatic first team spots in senior midfielder Nola Prickett and sophomore goalkeeper Emma Roccaforte. Roccaforte was named Goalkeeper of the Year as a freshman last season. Houston Baptist senior defender Baylii Bieke is an automatic first team honoree while Central Arkansas senior defender Kristen Ricks was voted to the top team. Sam Houston State junior Carlota Suarez Crespo rounds out the first team, an automatic selection at forward.
Sam Houston State garnered three spots on the preseason all-conference teams while Central Arkansas, McNeese and Stephen F. Austin each collected a pair of honorees. Northwestern State earned a lone spot on the second team.
The 2018 season gets underway Thursday, Aug. 16, when Sam Houston State hosts Utah at 6:30 p.m. CT and Abilene Christian faces Baylor on the road at 7 p.m. Lamar is set to host the 2018 Southland Conference Soccer Tournament, taking place from Oct. 31 to Nov. 4, at the LU Soccer Complex in Beaumont, Texas.
Returning players from the 2017 All-Conference First and Second teams are automatically named to the 2018 Preseason All-Conference teams at their same positions. Second team players are elevated to first team if the first team slot is vacated by a non-returning player at their same position. Vacant positions are nominated and voted upon by the conference’s head coaches. Voting for one’s own player is not permitted.
Preseason All-Conference First Team

D Baylii Bieke* Houston Baptist Sr. Little Elm, Texas

D Amelia Fullmer* Lamar Sr. Pleasant Grove, Utah

D Kristen Ricks Central Arkansas Sr. Keller, Texas

MF Christina Arteaga* Abilene Christian So. Pflugerville, Texas

MF Nola Prickett* McNeese Sr. Hemet, Calif.

MF Shay Johnson Abilene Christian Jr. Coppell, Texas

F Dylan Owens* Abilene Christian Sr. Willard, Mo.

F Kelso Peskin* Lamar Sr. Cape Town, South Africa

F Carlota Suarez Crespo* Sam Houston State Jr. Madrid, Spain

GK Emma Roccaforte* McNeese So. Nederland, Texas

AL Lucy Ashworth* Lamar So. Wigan, England
Preseason All-Conference Second Team

D Carli Arthurs Stephen F. Austin Jr. Lewisville, Texas

D Carly English Sam Houston State Sr. Red Oak, Texas

D Michelle Mulrooney Abilene Christian Jr. Lodi, Calif.

MF Sophia Fondren Stephen F. Austin So. Frisco, Texas

MFJuli Ocampo Lamar Sr. Bogotá, Colombia

MF Taylor Pritchard Sam Houston State Jr. Helotes, Texas

F Brittany Caserma* Northwestern State Sr. Murrieta, Calif.

F Autumn Wildung* Houston Baptist Sr. Cedar Park, Texas

F Camille Bassett Central Arkansas Sr. Vista, Calif.

GK Alanis Guevara Houston Baptist Sr. Cedar Park, Texas

AL Megan Rickert Houston Baptist So. Round Rock, Texas

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

BCH Sports