ASC Honors 16 as Distinguished Scholar Athletes

BCH Sports

RICHARDSON, Texas – The American Southwest Conference released the Distinguished Scholar Athletes for the 2020-2021 seasons on Monday, honoring 16 Cowgirls and Cowboys.

The Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams recognize student-athletes who achieve a high level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list – limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport – the sports information directors from the 12 ASC member institutions and three affiliate members select a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete in each sport.


Hunter GarrisonHardin-SimmonsSr.Business ManagementKeller, Texas

Men’s Basketball

Aidan WalshHardin-SimmonsSo.Sports ManagementKaty, Texas

Women’s Basketball

Samantha TatumHardin-SimmonsSo.MarketingGrapevine, Texas

Men’s Cross Country

Sammy MagallanHardin-SimmonsSr.Athletic TrainingSanderson, Texas

Women’s Cross Country

Shelby SchmidtHardin-SimmonsSo.UndecidedMidland, Texas


Matt MitchellHardin-SimmonsSo.BusinessWimberley, Texas

Men’s Golf

Nick VellaHardin-SimmonsSr.Business AdministrationColleyville, Texas

Women’s Golf

Jordan DaggsHardin-SimmonsSr.MinistryKilleen, Texas

Men’s Soccer

Austin WillsHardin-SimmonsJr.EconomicsFlower Mound, Texas

Women’s Soccer

Casady JenkinsHardin-SimmonsSr.Exercise ScienceFrisco, Texas

Men’s Tennis

Alex PavkovichHardin-SimmonsSr.Business AdministrationQueensland, Australia

Women’s Tennis

Landry LaywellHardin-SimmonsSo.HistoryThorndale, Texas

Men’s Track and Field

Parnelle ShandsHardin-SimmonsSo.Business AdministrationDinwiddie, Va.

Women’s Track and Field

Logan HallerHardin-SimmonsJr.FinanceAustin, Texas


Karlie KnapekHardin-SimmonsSr.Exercise ScienceHutto, Texas

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

BCH Sports

Trending stories