McMurry Football names team captains


ABILENE, Texas – The 2018 McMurry University football team – which begins its fall practice slate on Saturday morning – spent its first full day on campus completing paperwork and administrative items, including electing the squad’s team captains. The War Hawks’ players have selected the quartet of senior defensive lineman Darius Brooks (Thorndale, Texas/Thorndale H.S.) junior quarterback Kevin Hurley Jr. (Diboll, Texas/Diboll H.S.), junior wide receiver Eriel Dorsey (Alexandria, La./Peabody Magnet H.S.) and sophomore offensive lineman Daniel Zarzoza III (Diboll, Texas/Diboll H.S.) as their team captains for the 2018 season.
McMurry welcomed 120 players to campus on Thursday afternoon for check-in. On a roster sporting just seven seniors and 18 juniors among its players, the foursome of team captains are expected to play a huge role in 2018. Head coach Lance Hinson’s (5th season) team also has 29 sophomores and 66 freshmen in the fold.
McM will open the 2018 season on Thursday, August 30 by hosting Trinity University. Kick-off at Wilford Moore Stadium is slated for 6 p.m.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

BCH Sports