Rangers Announce Opening Day Roster


Arlington, Texas- The Texas Rangers made the following roster moves today to get to the opening day limit of 25 players:

–Signed RHP Dillon Gee to a major league free agent contract and optioned Gee to Triple-A Round Rock. Gee had been released from his minor league contract on March 31.

–Placed RHP Chi Chi Gonzalez on the 60-day disabled list (partial tear of right UCL) to make room for Gee on the major league roster.

–Placed RHP Andrew Cashner on the 10-day disabled list, retroactive to April 1(right biceps soreness)

–Placed five players on the 10-day disabled list, retroactive to March 30:  INF Hanser Alberto (right shoulder tightness),  3B Adrian Beltre (right calf tightness),  C Brett Nicholas (left knee surgery),  RHP Tyson Ross (Thoracic Outlet Syndrome surgery),  RHP Tanner Scheppers (left abdominal discomfort)


PITCHERS (12): Dario Alvarez, Tony Barnette, Matt Bush, Alex Claudio, Yu Darvish, Sam Dyson, A.J. Griffin, Cole Hamels, Mike Hauschild, Jeremy Jeffress, Jose Leclerc, Martin Perez.

CATCHERS (2): Robinson Chirinos, Jonathan Lucroy.

INFIELDERS (6): Elvis Andrus, Joey Gallo, Mike Napoli, Rougned Odor, Jurickson Profar, Drew Robinson.

OUTFIELDERS (5): Shin-Soo Choo, Delino DeShields, Carlos Gomez, Nomar Mazara, Ryan Rua.

10-DAY DL (6): INF Hanser Alberto, 3B Adrian Beltre, RHP Andrew Cashner, C Brett Nicholas, RHP Tyson Ross, RHP Tanner Scheppers.

60-DAY DL (3): 1B Prince Fielder, LHP Jake Diekman, RHP Chi Chi Gonzalez.

The Rangers have 40 players on their major league roster. Texas opens the 2017 season on Monday against the Cleveland Indians at Globe Life Park in Arlington at 6:08 p.m. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

BCH Sports