UMHB’s Johnson, UT-Dallas Joseph Named ASC Athletes of the Year

BCH Sports

RICHARDSON, Texas – Mary Hardin-Baylor sophomore Josiah Johnson and UT Dallas senior Kathy Joseph were selected as the 2020-21 American Southwest Conference Athlete of the Year recipients, the league office announced Thursday.

Johnson set or tied five ASC records this season as he became the first UMHB men’s basketball player to win First Team All-America honors from He set a new conference record by averaging 29.3 points per game and he also added 7.9 rebounds and 3.0 assists per contest. Johnson shot 51 percent from the field, 38 percent on three-pointers and 87 percent from the free throw line. He was ASC West Division Player of the Year, ASC All-Conference, All-West Division First Team and a member of the West Division All-Defensive Team. Johnson was also an All-Region selection and a seven-time ASC West Division Player of the Week. His play led the UMHB men to an undefeated conference record and ASC West Division Championship. The Cru finished 16-4 overall on the year and was ranked in the top 15 in the country for much of the season. Johnson is also an outstanding student and is nominated for the ASC Men’s Basketball Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Award and will earn ASC Academic All-Conference honors this season.

“This is an incredible honor for Josiah, the UMHB basketball program and the University of Mary Hardin Baylor,” said Cru head men’s basketball coach Clif Carroll. “Josiah embodies all of the things that we strive to be here at UMHB. Josiah has a work ethic that is second to none and inspires everyone around him to be better. He is a tremendous person with an infectious smile. I am proud of Josiah’s achievements and I am extremely excited about his future as Josiah will continue to grow in his faith and as a student athlete. “

Joseph became the most decorated women’s tennis player in UTD history as she advanced to the semifinals of the singles and doubles draws at the NCAA Division III National Championships this spring. Now a two-time ITA All-American for the Comets, she guided UTD to a 12-4 overall record this season and a perfect 4-0 ASC East mark, winning the division’s regular season title. The Comets would claim a second straight ASC Championship and advanced to the second round of NCAA D-III National Championship. Joseph was honored as ASC East Most Valuable Player after claiming first team All-ASC East honors. She closed her career as a three-time ASC Divisional MVP, claiming the West Division honors in 2018 and 2019. A four-time first team all-division pick over her career, she posted 15-3 record in singles this spring, all at No. 1, and a 16-3 record at doubles, all at No. 1. Joseph became UTD’s all-time record holder for both singles wins (51) and doubles wins (52) over her career and set single-season record with 16 doubles wins in 2021.

“”Kathy is on the Mount Rushmore of UTD student-athletes,” said UTD Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Bill Petitt.  “She will go down as one of the most decorated female student-athletes in program history both academically and athletically. Kathy has been an impact player since she arrived on campus back in 2016 and is deserving of all the accolades she is receiving this spring.”

“I’m so happy that Kathy is being recognized by the ASC for her spectacular season,” said Comet tennis coach Bryan Whitt. “This award caps a fantastic career. As one of the most talented players in UT Dallas history, she will be greatly missed.”

The ASC Athlete of the Year award recognizes a male and a female student-athlete whose athletic accomplishments best contributed to their sport, their institution’s overall athletic program and to the conference during the past athletic year and is presented for the 21st time in 2020-21. Selection is made from campus nominees with the recipients chosen by vote of the conference sports information directors.

2020-21 Athlete of the Year Nominees
# Athlete of the Year

# Kathy JosephTennisUT Dallas
Annika CanabaVolleyball/SoftballSul Ross State
Kennedy CarruthSoftballBelhaven
Keni FisherTrack & FieldHardin-Simmons
Hannah FrascaVolleyballMary Hardin-Baylor
Hannah GarciaSoftballEast Texas Baptist
Rikki HaaseSoftballOzarks
Sarah HoranTrack & FieldLeTourneau
Georgia QuirozVolleyballConcordia Texas
# Josiah JohnsonBasketballMary Hardin-Baylor
Isaiah AlvarengaBaseballEast Texas Baptist
Alex AshbyBaseballLouisiana College
Ravon Davis-ConwayTrack & FieldConcordia Texas
Bryson JohnsonBasketballOzarks
Kelton KempTrack & FieldBelhaven
Tristen LiconBasketballSul Ross State
Carlos MartinezTennisMcMurry
Lorien NightingaleCross Country/Track & FieldLeTourneau
Alex PavkovichTennisHardin-Simmons
Dimitrius UnderwoodBasketballUT Dallas

Annual ASC Athlete of the Year Award Recipients

1999-2000Brad Parris, McMurry (track & field)Ogonna Merritt, McMurry (basketball)
2000-01(co) Aaron Kernek, Austin (football)Talitha Belcher, McMurry (basketball, track & field)
 (co) Robert Moore, Mary Hardin-Baylor (basketball) 
2001-02Robert Moore, Mary Hardin-Baylor (basketball)Kendra Anderson, Hardin-Simmons (basketball)
2002-03Preston Meyer, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Kendra Anderson, Hardin-Simmons (basketball)
2003-04Cody Fredenburg, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Brittany Cary, McMurry (golf)
2004-05Cody Brotherton, McMurry (track & field)Holly Glover, Mary Hardin-Baylor (golf)
2005-06Aaron Crais, Texas Lutheran (baseball)Sandi Clark, Louisiana College (softball)
2006-07Josh Kubiak, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Meia Daniels, Howard Payne (basketball)
2007-08Jerrell Freeman, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Meia Daniels, Howard Payne (basketball)
2008-09Hann Ollison, McMurry (track and field)Ashley Huston, Hardin-Simmons (track & field)
2009-10Jake Mullin, McMurry (football, baseball)Ayrika Henderson, East Texas Baptist (softball)
2010-11Ben McLaughlin, Louisiana College (football)Amy Kuykendall, Hardin-Simmons (soccer)
2011-12Kevin Cunningham, McMurry (track and field)Brittany Roberson, Howard Payne (basketball)
2012-13Javicz Jones, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Katie Kuykendall, Hardin-Simmons (soccer)
2013-14Kyle Schleigh, UT Dallas (basketball)Lauren Robenalt, UT Tyler (softball)
2014-15Connor Bertsch, Concordia Texas (baseball)McKenzie Ralston, Mary Hardin-Baylor (golf)
2015-16Conner Combs, East Texas Baptist (baseball)Kelsie Batten, UT Tyler (softball)
2016-17Teidrick Smith, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Whitney Simmons, UT Tyler (track & field)
2017-18Haston Adams, Mary Hardin-Baylor (football)Kenne Kessler, Hardin-Simmons (soccer)
2018-19Casey Combs, East Texas Baptist (baseball)Melissa Livermore, UT Dallas (softball)
2020-21Josiah Johnson, Mary Hardin-Baylor (basketball)Kathy Joseph, UT Dallas (tennis)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

BCH Sports

Trending stories